Skip to content

Food Find: The only guacamole recipe you’ll ever need

I had a request by a friend to post some of my recipes.  I must admit that I am not a good cook – however, I am good at finding amazing recipes and can make them over and over and over again to the point I fool my friends into thinking I am a good cook.  I always give credit where it is due and here it is to my favorite Food TV personality, the Barefoot Contessa.

guac boost

Ina Garten is my hero;  I have every one of her eight published cookbooks and have already pre-ordered her latest, Make it Ahead: A Barefoot Contessa Cookbook, due out in October.  She nails every single recipe while keeping the ingredients and the prep and cooking time simple.  I love to cook and bake her recipes, but let’s be honest, some of them can be over the top!  🙂  While there is a time and a place for her indulgent recipes, I have sifted through to find some of the healthier ones you can add to your repertoire.

I’ve made her guacamole recipe at least 89 times.  Every single time it is a hit.  The only room for error would be if you had bad/underripe/overripe avocados (but avocado ripeness is pretty easy to determine – give the flesh a soft squeeze, and it should yield to moderate pressure).  This dip is perfect for summer picnics at the beach and pairs well with BBQ too.  Several years ago I even won a local guacamole competition using this recipe.  No kidding, it was called the “Guac Off”.

guac boost 2

Ina ingredients include 4 ripe avocados, juice of one lemon, 8 dashes of hot sauce (I use Tabasco), 1 minced clove of garlic, chopped red onion, salt, pepper and a seeded tomato, salt & pepper.

The recipe yields chunky, creamy guacamole with the right amount of crunch from the onions and sweetness from the tomato.  The lemon juice (versus traditional lime) and the addition of hot sauce creates the perfect amount of spice.  This recipe is a winner every time.

For the recipe and instructions click here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

