Skip to content

Food Find: Banana greek yogurt oat pancakes

Happy 2015!  I hope your New Year is off to a healthy start.

I’m confident that I’m not the only one whose holiday season spun a little bit out of control.  With the new year here I am determined to cut out the sugar and other garbage that infiltrated our home over the last month.  This is not only for my benefit but for my kids too who have had more than their fair share of sweets.

I stumbled upon this fantastic recipe from the blog Running with Spoons a couple of weeks ago when my oldest daughter had a sleepover and I needed something for breakfast in the morning.  My older daughter will not eat oats or greek yogurt individually but blended together in the Vitamix she and her friend could not be more pleased with these pancakes.  I love them because they are easy peasy, I usually have all ingredients (including over-ripe bananas) and best of all – they are nutritious.  I initially thought about adding mini chocolate chips to the batter but forgot and they were not missed.

Eight simple ingredients (I always double but sometimes triple the recipe – the Running with Spoons recipe is for a single serving).  Oats (I use gluten-free), plain Greek yogurt, baking powder, cinnamon, banana, egg whites, almond milk and vanilla extract.

pancakes 1

Find the recipe at the blog Running with Spoons here.

Put all ingredients into a Vitamix or blender:

pancakes 3

The batter is initially runny but will thicken the longer it sits (you can go ahead with runny batter, it doesn’t matter)

pancakes 4

Pour batter into heated pan or skillet (use cooking spray, butter or in my case I used coconut oil).

pancakes 5

Tada!  Healthy, easy pancakes that please even the most finicky eaters…

pancakes 2

 

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Galia Gichon Clemens #

    Made them this morn. So delish…..

    January 3, 2015

Leave a Reply

