Skip to content

Need to Know: Tree of Life Center workshops

I’ve been contemplating this blog post for almost a week now, not because I didn’t want to share but because it is something I’m having a hard time putting into words.  It is because this is something new to me – something I don’t practice all the time – something that pushed me way out of my comfort zone.

tree of life centerLast Tuesday I found myself at a noon JoyRide class where Mackenzie Pretty (the incredible instructor!) introduced me to the woman sitting next to me, Beth Segaloff, a social worker and Reiki master.  Beth had led an empowerment and leadership workshop for JoyRide instructors and everyone raved about her.  Would I like to join her in a small group empowerment workshop in two days?  I gave it some thought (with such outstanding recommendations how could I say no?) and cleared my schedule for her 3 hour workshop.  I had no expectations but was totally in to this idea.

On Thursday we met at a fellow participants home and after introductions the workshop began.  In the first portion of the workshop we learned about what it is to be mindful and different ways to practice mindfulness (meditation, yoga and focusing on breath).  Beth led us through breathing exercises and then we practiced being ‘mindful’.  (I’ve gone back to these exercises many times in the past week.)

I don’t want to give away the whole workshop because I think this would be amazing for everyone to experience for themselves, however, other topics included communicating, realizing your potential, beliefs (positive & negative), creating balance, fears, negative influences, gratitude, and expectations.  We did a lot of thinking, a lot of writing and a lot of sharing.  We all need to reset and put our busy lives into perspective.  My favorite line from Beth was, “Your life is a story and only you have the ability to change the channel”.  We have the power to make things happen in our lives.  We have the power to make changes.  What Beth does is teach you how to personally evaluate your life and then gives you the tools to make those changes happen (or not).

At the end of class we each did our own glass walk.  Something I will never forget!

 

Interested in living your life with more focus, meaning and intention?  Contact Beth through the Tree of Life Center website at www.treeoflifecenters.com.  She offers corporate or theme based workshops,  individual counseling and Reiki.

 

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Galia Gichon Clemens #

    Wow. So cool. Must forward this to my meditation gal!!! If you ever want to write about her Monday night meditations or just comeback Xoxo

    February 12, 2015

Leave a Reply

