Skip to content

Food Find: Clean Slate Cookbook

It’s been awhile since I got really excited over a cookbook.  Yes, I have pre-ordered each and every one of Ina Garten’s Barefoot Contessa cookbooks but to find one that one ranks up there with Gourmet’s big, yellow, kitchen ‘Bible’ is one I definitely want to share.

clean slate

CLEAN SLATE, A Cookbook and Guide, from the editors of Martha Stewart Living, is hand down my new favorite cookbook.  The recipes are light and clean, yet flavorful and delicious enough to satisfy the most high maintenance customers (my husband and kids!).  The recipes are simple enough to prepare for a weekday lunch or dinner.  Photos sell you on the recipes instantly.  I am eager to try each and every one.

Clean Slate is more than just a cookbook.  It is divided into two parts.  Part one’s focus is educating the reader on the golden rules of clean eating, tips on stocking a ‘clean’ pantry, the science behind food, nutrients & spices (for example did you know that  almonds, while high in vitamin E and healthy fats also have prebiotic benefits, which help feed good bacteria?).  The editors have also outlined a 3 and 21 day detox (which I have not tried).

Cauliflower "rice" stir-fry with pumpkin seeds

Cauliflower “rice” stir-fry with pumpkin seeds

Part two, the actual recipes, are pretty amazing.  I’m currently working my way through the chapters:  Replenish (breakfasts), Reboot (juices & smoothies), Recharge (vegetable dishes),  Reenergize (snacks & dips), Restore (meals with lean proteins) and Relax (desserts/ sweets).  Each recipe is labeled Vegan, Gluten Free, Nut Free and Dairy Free for those that have restrictions.

A friend of mine tipped me off that the ‘cauliflower “rice” stir-fry with pumpkin seeds was life changing and she was right.  This recipe required a bit of chopping but once prepped came together easily.  I would recommend doubling it as it is that good.  (My husband couldn’t identify the cauliflower and he was pleasantly surprised.  For him, I grilled a piece of chicken as a side as no meal is complete without meat).

wild salmon, asparagus and shiitakes in parchment

wild salmon, asparagus and shiitakes in parchment

The wild salmon, asparagus & shiitake was exceptional. It is amazing how the shiitakes flavor the salmon. I also love that this is an entire meal wrapped up into one package. So simple, you really only need 4 ingredients: mushrooms, asparagus, scallions and salmon. Everything else you will likely have on hand.

We often have ‘breakfast for dinner’ at our house. The recipe for an omelette with mushrooms and micro greens (I substituted spinach as that’s what I had on hand) was perfection. I literally want to cook the whole book but if I had to pick, next on my list to try: -quinoa salad with zucchini, mint and pistachios, -fruit and almond alpine muesli, -roasted cauliflower yogurt dip and -spicy cauliflower, bok choy, and shrimp stir-fry with coconut. The desserts look out of this world: dark chocolate ‘pudding’, dark chocolate bark with hazelnuts and no-bake oat bars with strawberries. Yes, please!

omelette

Bottom line: this cookbook is a great inspiration for those looking to incorporate more plant based foods into their diets. You do not need to sacrifice flavor (or meat!) to prepare clean, healthy and satisfying meals. I highly recommend you add this to your cookbook collection.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

