Skip to content

A Running Obsession…

I am very often asked what my favorite workout is.  I have many but there is one that has held the top rank for the last 18 years.  Running.  I didn’t grow up running – to be honest in high school I couldn’t run 400m without having an ambulance arrive at the scene, but when I moved to NYC in 1997 I caught the running bug.  I joined NYRR while living on the UES and found that with drive and determination I could do it.   I never knew that what started out as a 5k in Central Park in 1998 would define the next 20+ years (and hopefully more!) of my life.

#runlikeamotherwestport

#runlikeamotherwestport

It’s hard to put my love for running into words.  I love running because it is therapeutic for me, because it can be done anywhere and at anytime.  It is where I clear my head and come up with ideas.  It’s repetitiveness allows my mind to wander and escape for 30, 60, 90 minutes – whatever time it is I have.  I end my run feeling accomplished and ready to tackle whatever it is that awaits me.  Running has been one of the best things that’s ever happened to me.   Because of running I met my husband (we met at the 2001 NYC Marathon) and more recently I was incredibly lucky enough to meet the most AMAZING group of women who inspire me to be a better mother, wife, friend and person.  These women share my passion for running.  They are the most hysterical, talented, inspiring, smart, fiercely loyal, supportive, creative and most bad-ass group of mothers and women I know.  To the ladies of #Runlikeamotherwestport, you women rock and I am so thankful to be a part of your team!  HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY TO ALL OF MY FELLOW MOTHER RUNNERS (and of course to my own mother and friends who are not runners).

Photo by Silver Penny Photography

Photo by Silver Penny Photography

 

RLAM at MORE 1/2 marathon

RLAM at MORE 1/2 marathon

 

At #runlikeamotherwestport we don't take ourselves too seriously...

At #runlikeamotherwestport we take planking quite seriously…

 

At RLAM we don’t just run and plank…

Water jogging at Swim 70

We get wet! Water running at Swim 70

 

RLAM clips in and hops into the saddle too...

RLAM clips in and hops into the saddle too…

 

RLAM at NYC half marathon

RLAM conquers the NYC half marathon

 

 

At RLAM we love each other...

But most of all, at RLAM we love each other…

Thank you Run Like A Mother Westport…  I am flattered and honored to be a part of this wonderful team.  xoxo

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

